landfill

and a marble.  i should know already.   add a new garden space and i am digging in urban landfill.   one little green marble and more broken stone fill than I can imagine.  maybe even more than i can dig.  that and a few old apple tree roots to keep it really interesting.  if i am real lucky tomorrow i will get the rest of the roots and rocks out and get those three plants in there.  this is another plant from Dave’s garden.  it is called Clarification.   the reason is this flower is a good parent to choose when you want to improve the color of another seedling.  or it could just bloom there and look pretty.  two images…

dw clarification macro dw clarification det

13 thoughts on “landfill

  1. woodlandgnome

    What satisfaction to open a new garden bed! I hope you’re making it twice as big as you think you’ll need, and finding some interesting new project for all of your ‘found’ stones. Will you return the marble once the new daylilies are planted? Or is there a grandchild ready to claim it? Happy Saturday, John 😉 Beautiful flower, by the way. I love the darker markings and the texture on the petals’ edges-

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      I will have to post a few pictures of the declining turf spaces between garden beds. The new bed just holds three daylilies. And that particular bed will most likely not get any larger. Still it is three more which is an improvement. I do need to remember that between spaces need to be large enough for a wheelbarrow. And I agree Clarification is a beauty.

      Reply
      1. woodlandgnome

        There are always more flowers to grow, more blossoms to admire…. We’re having the “growing beds shrinking turn” conversation here this spring. I like the idea of giving my husband less grass to mow each season…. don’t understand why he doesn’t always agree…. 🙂

    1. John Hric Post author

      This is a case where the like button does not apply. Now if there was a comiserate button I would hit it fast and often. I am at the point where if I dig deep enough or in a new spot I am likely to pull up just about anything. No organic fossils yet. Still lots of lost junk corroded mostly beyond recognition.

      Reply
  2. clarepooley33

    I also have builders-rubble, flint, old bricks etc in my borders and am currently trying to enlarge them with the same results as you. It will be worth it if you can find a home for such a pretty lily.

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      Clare, Clarification is in my friend Dave’s garden. At present there are no plans, negotiations, or purchases to bring it here. I have more than enough of my own lilies to play musical chairs (and garden beds).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

