cherished blogfest

this post is part of the cherished blogfest.  if you wish to join or simply read other cherished blogs go to this link.  the link is open to join for two days.  cherished memories that are a key to our lives.

for me cherished is not an object.  it is a place.  my mother and grandmother both were gardeners.  they introduced me to the garden and set me loose to learn and revel.  many things have grown here in the garden.  there were vegetables and fruits of many kinds.  these days it is daylilies, daylilies, and daylilies.  they are a window into the creative force of nature.  a window anyone can open and explore.  they are one of the simplest plants to grow and to raise your own seeds. one year later you can see your very own flowers.  mother nature’s flowers still, and flowers you have nudged in one direction or another.

here are some flowers the work of other gardeners.  flowers that were planted here and helped me start this journey…

smoke scream det black plush

open hearth det trahlyta det

bark at me det webster's pink wonder det 001

and these are some of the seeds that were planted and grown here…  seeds where i had a small say, a nudge, in a new direction.

11-0726-D Black Plush x Trahlyta)x(Bark At Me x Black Plush she who must be obeyed det

12-133 Smoke Scream x (11-0730-A Desert Icicle x Autumn Minaret det 001 11-078 Give Me Eight X Smoke Scream det

12-0623-002 Highland Pinched Fingers x Colberg Preview ) x Websters Pink Wonder det purple satellite kid

Open Hearth x Trahlyta det 11-069 Gift Tie x Prague Spring) x Orchid Lady Slipper det

i can remember those gardens still.  and i can barely imagine what i will find here in this garden.

37 thoughts on “cherished blogfest

  1. Julia Dawn Mason

    I grew up to grow things also but my mother was not a gardener. My grandfather was though. My journey into the daylily world started when I was 10 years old. Some one gave me a yellow -orange un-named daylily. I fell in love with that flower, its clean simple lines and how it glowed when it was back lit with sunlight. Many years later I found out that there was a whole different world of daylilies in many different colors and shapes.

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      there are many daylilies available mostly over the internet. they come in just about any color you can think of. and once you get a few of your own you can begin expanding that color pallet. the original daylilies were mainly yellow, orange, and red. now they are all over the rainbow.

      Reply
    2. John Hric Post author

      Derrick – variety is the spice of life. there are daylily growers and suppliers in the EU. You just might find a color you like and do not yet have. You are always welcome to stop back and see what is blooming on the web. I try to post a picture daily. Thanks for stopping by !

      Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      Michel – I am told the mathematical possibilities are staggering. And my personal experience adds to the support of this theory. Even in the oldest most heavily crossed plants there is still great variety. And if you bring a new ( previously not used in that cross ) parent to the mix the odds for surprise go up again. Thanks for stopping by ! John

      Reply
  2. Dan Antion

    Thank you for joining us John and for sharing a little insight into the garden story. The knowledge that was passed onto us is precious and, in your case, beautiful. Now that I know a little more about the gardener, I like the gardens even more.

    Reply
  3. Lies Jack Kerouac told Me

    Unfortunately, I am no gardener, as the trail of dead flora in my wake can attest. Having recently moved from Michigan to Colorado, we’re now trying to adapt to a new climate, with mixed results. But the one thing that IS blooming (fiercely, I might add) is our day lilies.

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      there are several daylily gardens in Colorado. they can survive the dry. though it will stress the plants. no one is born a gardener. we all have to learn somewhere and somehow. walking into your new garden might be the start. one small story. when i move daylilies ( all too frequent an occurrence ) the daylilies that are moved out often end up sitting on the ground a small unplanted root ball on the surface of the ground. rarely does that phase the plant. they keep right on growing where they land.

      Reply
  4. Tamara Narayan

    What gorgeous flowers. My dad is a serious gardener and I grew up wandering around his creations. I don’t spend enough time in my garden and the weeds are winning right now. The hydrangea, honeysuckle, sage, and lavender are all doing well though.

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      Kalpanaa, I am so glad you enjoy the flowers. There are many levels on which to garden. I hope you find one that works for you. You are always welcome here.

      John

      Reply
  5. John Hric Post author

    Tara – glad you enjoy them. Yes we have had much too much rain. Sadly many other parts of the country have had even more. I hope the areas that need it get some – in manageable amounts. Thanks for stopping by !

    Reply
  6. John Hric Post author

    I know what you mean. we have plants from mom here too. I was going to ask which red one. I imagine you are talking about the one on the first row. That would be Black Plush. I agree. then again all of those daylilies fall into the awesome group.

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      Now i have the next for a while to read the rest of the cherished blog posts. Thank you for setting this up and letting me play along….

      Reply
  7. Damyanti

    John, thank you for this thoughtful and visually gorgeous post. We had thought of Cherished places as the theme for our blogfest, but finally settled upon objects. Glad you could write about your garden, and we got to see these beauties.

    Reply
  8. dweezer19

    I love Ll kinds of lilies. This year I had a deep red orange Asian lily. I love those deep purple ones. You have such a talent for making them happy!

    Reply
  9. echoesofthepen

    A lovely post, and beautifully illustrated. I’m not a keen gardener myself but I love the outdoors and exploring nature. I live in London at the moment, but I’ll be retiring to the country in about three years and can’t wait to be surrounding by nature in all it’s magnificent glory. My compliments on a wonderful and sentimental cherished blogpost…

    Regards, Paul…

    Reply
  10. lightravellerkate

    Beautiful! Cherishing the life force expression througj the plants and garden is the ultimate act of cherishing. And a great honour to your mother and grandmother. The photos are superb. Thanks for liking my post

    Reply
    1. John Hric Post author

      Thanks for stopping by. For me the daylilies are another path into the understanding of nature. Just as much a path as walk in the woods. Glad you enjoy the lilies !

      Reply
  11. wilabea94

    Remarkable beauty! Your garden is a treasure. How fortunate to be able to continue and enrich this environment. Thanks for sharing this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

